Gluten is the generic term for a group of proteins found in grains which can cause allergic reactions in some cases. People allergic to gluten suffer from coeliac disease. The only way to deal with this allergy is to have a low-gluten or gluten-free diet. People with gluten intolerance can enjoy cheese without any concerns. Cheeses are gluten free as no grain is used in their production.