Cheese encyclopedia

Everything about
cheese from


Unlike milk and cream, most cheeses do not contain lactose. Nevertheless people who are lactose intolerant often avoid cheese. The ripening process for hard, semi-hard and soft cheeses converts the milk sugar into milk acid. This does not cause any problems. This is the case for all the aforementioned cheese groups made from cow's, sheep's and goat's milk regardless of whether the attribute "lactose free" is applied or not. The longer cheese matures for, the less lactose it contains. This is the case for the cheeses of Bergader (except Bergader Edelpilz). Their lactose content is below 1% which means that less than 0.1 g of lactose is present in 100 g of cheese.